Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"tl;dr pros: pretty and clean. cons: strict and expensive This hotel was in a beautiful spot and it was clean and pretty. The problem we had was we bo ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 17 Jun 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star beachfront hotel with 2 outdoor pools

On the beach

Within a 10-minute walk of this Zona Hotelera hotel, you'll find Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and Yamil Lu'um Archaeological Zone. La Isla Shopping Mall and Cancun Interactive Aquarium are also within half a mile (1 km).

Onsite dining, 2 outdoor pools

This hotel features 4 restaurants, 2 outdoor pools, and a spa tub. Relax with beach cabanas, sun loungers, and beach umbrellas. Relax with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges and enjoy free perks like buffet breakfast and free self parking.

Free WiFi, plasma TVs

In addition to plasma TVs with cable channels, the 196 guestrooms offer free WiFi and minibars. Other amenities include room service, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans.

Deluxe Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
C$379* Per night/room 16 Nov. - 17 Nov.

Suite (Sunset)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Junior Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Hotel NYX Cancun ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Hotel NYX Cancun

Everyone (16)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 21 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jul. 2019 by Guest Services and Experience Manager.

Thank you very much for your calification.

1 out of 5
Hotel is under constructions, alcohol isn't allowed on premises and u cant buy from store unless its from the bar.

Posted by , from New York on 21 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Oct. 2018 by Aracely Alcázar

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel NYX Cancun for your vacations. We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you had during your stay, because of hotel policy you are not allowed to enter with food or external drinks since we are a consumer center. we are in remodeling for the improvement of our facilities. We look forward to see you again. Best Regards

3 out of 5
tl;dr pros: pretty and clean. cons: strict and expensive This hotel was in a beautiful spot and it was clean and pretty. The problem we had was we booked 2 nights and didn't realize the site moved it to only 1 night. So when we got there, the staff wouldn't give us the same price for another night and charged double what we paid. They're also very strict about everything. They give you tickets for towels, you need to have a wristband from the hotel all the time, they write your name down when you go eat meals, you can't have guests even in the lobby. I'm sure it's for a good reason, but it's excessive. Also, for a weird reason, there was no hot water in the morning.

Posted by , from USA on 17 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jun. 2018 by Director General

Dear Guest First of all we would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your disappointment, your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We are very concerned by what sounds like a disappointing visit at our hotel, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us. We hope you will give us an opportunity to host you in the future and meet your expectations. Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Kind regards

5 out of 5
It is a good hotel. We stayed a newer building which is just renoveted. Rooms were large with good size balcony.Breakfast was great. Hotel restaurant is good and reasonable priced.

Posted by , from NY on 28 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Jun. 2018 by Director General

Dear Guest First of all thank you very much for letting us be your host on your vacations, It is an honor to read how much you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel, in behalf of the NYX team we would like you to know that reading reviews like yours letting us know that the variety of food and beverages that are offered in our restaurants, the room and Hotel facilities as well as the service that was provided to you exceed your expectations, which is gratifying since our goal is to make you feel that you are in the right place to be pampered. Please come back soon! Best Regards

4 out of 5

Great experience.

Very nice Hotel. Everyone who works there is very friendly and always helpful. The pool is right in front of the beach and is beautiful. I love the breakfast buffet, lots of choices. I would defined stay at Nyx Cancun again.

Posted by , from Greensboro NC on 25 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Oct. 2017 by Director General

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the quality of food and general attention. Your survey is of great importance to us, as it allows us to continuously improve to create memorable moments for our guests and feel the magic of being with us day by day. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards

3 out of 5

Very late check in

Check is at 3 pm. I arrived at 10 am and had to wait till 3 pm or 4 pm till the room is ready. It's a waste of whole day of vacation

Posted by , from B on 12 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Sep. 2017 by Director General

Dear guest Thank you for your comment. As you know at many hotels usually the check in is at 3 pm, this is because the check out is 12pm and we need to get the room ready so you can get in to a nice and clean room. Sorry if this was something that you didn't like but it´s a procedure we do. We tried to get rooms ready before 3 when the guest is already at the hotel, but sometimes the guest before don't do the check out at 12 or before and we have this delays.

3 out of 5

The view was the best part of my experience

This hotel is ok, except for the stairs. I had to call them to turn on the hot water and they don't give enough face towels. The ac was leaking water. But beside all that, it had a beautiful view of the beach. Food and drinks was good.

Posted by on 11 Jul. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Very nice!

NYX was beautiful, just in the right location away from spring breakers and screaming kids. Right on the beach, Lovely staff. Fantastic continental breakfast was way more than we expected. Lovely room. Helpful information about tourist attractions was readily available.

Posted by on 27 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Happy with Hotel experience.

We booked a basic room, but upon arrival asked if we could upgrade to an ocean view room. We were pleased with the room with a gorgeous view for only $30 dollars more. The staff was very helpful and personable. Especially Eric. We ate a nice dinner at hotel restaurant and enjoyed the hotel salsa band very much. Thank you for a great end to our vacation!

Posted by , from Detroit, Michigan on 10 Mar. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Mar. 2017 by Thank you

Dear guest Many thanks for sharing your kind feedback and taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that we exceed your expectations. We are glad that you appreciated our service and attentive staff. We will definitely share your kind words with the rest of the staff. Thank you so much for your comments. See you soon in your next holidays. Best regards Hotel NYX Cancun

1 out of 5

Worst hotel ever!!!!!!

Staff was extremely rude and unwelcoming especially Rocio. The guys in the white suit make you feel like you stole something. Asked for a roller bed they said yes and it never got to the room. The rooms were not clean or in good conditions. Sheets not clean. Smelled so bad. The dehumidifier had to be emptied out like 6 times a day or it would turn off and the whole room would sweat. And when I say sweat it mean sauna; slippery floors, wet towels and clothes. (Tours usually last all day so most days we walked into a wet room)The shower flooded. We had such a bad first impression/day we ended up only using the rooms to sleep. Did not use the amenities or the beach out back. To be able to eat or drink at the hotel (not inclusive) you HAVE to charge to the room or open like a prepaid card. No cash accepted. We left the pool towels in the room and they gave my husband the option of going back to get them himself or paying for them. It's their towels their rooms, couldn't they have gotten them themselves. We were on our way to the airport and had to delay because we had to go get our towels. Hotel ruined our vacation. You get what you pay for. Spend the extra 50 and go somewhere else.

Posted by , from Dallas, TX on 10 Aug. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Aug. 2016 by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your disappointment , your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We are very concerned by what sounds like a disappointing visit at our hotel, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay with us. Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations. We will share them with the persons involved in order to prevent these situations happen again. Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Cordially NYX HOTEL CANCUN

All-inclusive Details

  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • Gratuities not included
  • All onsite activities, and facilities and equipment included

Property Features

Sit back and relax on the beach with cabanas (surcharge), umbrellas, and sun loungers. Cool off in one of the 2 outdoor swimming pools at Hotel NYX Cancun, and enjoy amenities like a spa tub and a fitness center. Free breakfast is served daily. There are 4 restaurants on site, along with a grocery/convenience store. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 2 bars/lounges and a poolside bar. Public spaces have free WiFi. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star Cancun hotel.

  • 196 guestrooms or units
  • 4 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Bar by the pool
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Cabanas on the beach (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Hotel NYX Cancun offers 196 accommodations with minibars and safes. Plasma televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Plasma television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 11 AM.

Deck - This restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves lunch and dinner.

Bellavista - This restaurant serves breakfast only. Open daily.

Chianti - This restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required. Open select days.

Umami - This restaurant specializes in Japanese cuisine and serves dinner only. Open select days.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Spa Services

  • Massages on beach
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at anytime

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Guests booked in All-Inclusive rate plans for stays of 1 or 2 nights have access to dining at Deck restaurant. For minimum 3-night stays in All-Inclusive rate plans, guests have access to dining at Chianti restaurant once every 3 nights. For minimum 5-night stays in All-Inclusive rates, guests have access to dining at Umami restaurant once every 5 nights. Dining at Deck restaurant is always available to guests booked in All-Inclusive rates.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and debit cards. Cash is not accepted. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • One child stays free
  • Debit cards
  • Car recommended
  • Staffed front desk
  • Security system
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guest stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: MXN 3000 per stay
  • A tax is imposed by the city: MXN 26.89 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Airport shuttle fee: MXN 600 per vehicle (one-way, maximum occupancy 4)
  • Airport shuttle fee per child: MXN 600 (one-way), (up to 12 years old)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Cancun Hotel NYX
  • Hotel NYX Cancun
  • Hotel NYX Cancun Hotel
  • NYX Cancun Hotel
  • NYX Hotel
  • Hotel NYX
  • Avalon Grand Cancun Hotel Cancun
  • Avalon Grand Resort
  • Avalon Resort Cancun
  • Cancun Avalon Grand Hotel
  • NYX Cancun
  • Hotel NYX Cancun Hotel
  • Hotel NYX Cancun Cancun
  • Hotel NYX Cancun Hotel Cancun

You should know

  • Hotel NYX Cancun offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation 72 hours prior to arrival with your arrival details.
url importing http://fr.travelocity.ca/Cancun-Hotels-Hotel-NYX-Cancun.h662993-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Cancun-Hotels-Hotel-NYX-Cancun.h662993-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://fr.travelocity.ca/Cancun-Hotels-Hotel-NYX-Cancun.h662993-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.